Fugitive Songs


Live dramatic performance rights for “Fugitive Songs” are represented by Samuel French

Buy the album on:  Amazon  iTunes  Spotify (featuring Matt Caplan, Gavin Creel, Joshua Henry, Karen Olivo, Alysha Umphress, & Barrett Wilbert Weed)

Buy the sheet music HERE


Fugitive Songs is a 19-song journey across America, featuring a multi-ethnic ensemble (3 men, 3 women) between the ages of 20 and 40.  This innovative song cycle, conceived as half-musical/half-hootenanny, spotlights people on the run:  a disgruntled Subway sandwich employee, a jilted ex-cheerleader, a pair of Patty Hearst fanatics, a stoner forced to rob a convenience store against his will, and many others.  Blending traditional folk music with contemporary pop and gospel, Fugitive Songs offers a new sound for a restless America.

no images were found

Production History:

Fugitive Songs opened Off-Broadway at the 45th St. Theatre on March 8, 2008. The cast featured D. B. Bonds, Halle Petro (as Annie), Todd Pettiford, Ben Roseberry, and Lucia Spina.  The production was directed by Joe Calarco and produced by Dreamlight Theatre Company.  Music direction by Justin Mendoza, set by Brian Prather, costumes by Jennifer Caprio, lighting by Joel Shier.


3 men, 3 women

Musical Numbers:

1.            REASONS TO RUN – Company
2.            GETTING THERE – Gavin
3.            ANNIE’S PARTY – Karen
4.            DON’T SAY ME – Alysha w/Karen & Barrett
5.            WASHINGTON HEIGHTS – Joshua
6.            SUBWAY SONG – Matt w/Gavin & Joshua
7.            BREAK A BRANCH – Barrett w/Co.
8.            KANSAS HIGHWAY SKY – Gavin, Matt & Joshua
9.            PASSING TRACY – Joshua
10.          LOST – Karen
11.          POOR LITTLE PATTY – Alysha & Barrett
12.          LULLABY – Gavin w/Karen & Barrett
13.          WILSON – Matt w/ Alysha & Karen
14.          SPRING CLEANING – Alysha
15.          SHINE – Joshua w/ Co.
16.          WILDFLOWERS – Gavin & Barrett
17.          GROWING UP – Matt
18.          I COULD GO BACK – Alysha w/ Co.
19.          ONE OF THESE NIGHTS – Company


“A powerful yearning weaves through the tunes that make up Fugitive Songs, a song cycle tailored to anyone who has ever thought of shucking his job, his mate or his life to start anew” -VARIETY

“Fugitive Songs is a fluid, artfully directed (Joe Calarco) song cycle that centers on the theme of flight: specifically, running away … from home, from lovers, from troubles, from whatever. The show, therefore, has a picaresque quality akin to a modern musical rendition of Jack Kerouac’s On the Road. Both the theme and your introduction to these songwriters begins with a thrilling opening number called “Reasons to Run” that builds both emotionally and musically as all five members of the cast eventually sing it in gorgeously orchestrated vocal harmonies.” -TALKINBROADWAY.COM – THE SIEGEL COLUMN

“The show is an excellent showcase for the five golden-voiced actors who bring its songs to life. But the real stars of Fugitive Songs are Miller and Tysen, who have created a tuneful, genuinely evocative score. Miller’s music features soaring harmonies with elements of folk rock, bluegrass and old-fashioned theatre music, and is backed up by a piano and terrific four-piece band. Tysen’s lyrics have moments of real wit (“I found drinking/No, drinking found me”) and usually walk the line between rock and theatre with ease.” -CURTAIN UP

“The folk-rock song cycle Fugitive Songs brilliantly infuses singer-songwriter cool with theatrical earnestness… cast members’ voices filling the theatre with prisms of five-part harmony.” -BACKSTAGE